MMA: Find One Thing This Week

by Chris Ritter

I’m in Roseville, CA beginning my training for my new job, and am staying with my good friend Rick Sisson and his family for a few days.  Today is his daughter’s birthday (Elsa) – she turns 9!  I remember when I was applying for the youth pastor job at Providence Bible Church (where Rick is the pastor) in February of ’06 and Elsa was 2… man, I’m starting to feel old as all these kids grow up around me.  So this morning I got to spend a little time with Elsa and the gang before they went off to school.  Anyways, that’s just a little context.

 

This morning’s MMA is real short, because my time is short and Monday snuck up on me… by the way, here is an open invitation for ANY reader of my blog:  if you want to write a guest MMA post, I’d love to have you write one.  Please email me – thegospelmatters@gmail.com – and let me know you’re interested.

 

Here’s the marital advice for the week:  find one way to bless your spouse this week.  Just one… something they won’t expect, something they will appreciate deeply.  It could be as simple as a card or a new article of clothing.  It could be big, or small – but think of one way you can bless each other this week.

 

Do you know that if both of you made this a habit every week – to intentionally bless each other in just one way – as a couple you would perform over 100 acts of kindness and generosity towards one another each year?  The number 100 sounds overwhelming… but one each week is very manageable.  Half of your weekly blessings could just be a random email of love and appreciation that take you no more than two minutes to type up.  A quarter of them could be hiding a sticky note expressing your love somewhere they’ll find easily find it.  Then you just have about 12-15 remaining random acts of blessing throughout the year to get creative with.

 

Remember, many small rocks become a mountain.  So build a strong mountain of a marriage together by blessing one another in some small but thoughtful way this week.  And… come back to comment on this page to let people know how you blessed or were blessed!

 

If you haven’t signed up to receive emails from TheGospelMatters.com, you can do so on the right side of the page.  You’ll receive an email each time a new post is published.

 

MMA Stand for Monday’s Marital Advice